Single Once Again…a short story…

This wonderful account: From Annie S  via the e-mail bag

 

Dear Page Larkin,

 

We met in Mill Valley at the Depot in 2010

He was an espresso. I was a double latte.

We each sat at our individual little tables soaking up the rare December sun. Each sipping coffee, our faces to the sun.  Puccini ‘s Tosca was playing in the background.

I had just written the last gigantic check to my divorce attorney and the ink was finally dry. A long sordid  chapter in my life was over.

I was elated, shocked and relieved. I knew I should be surrounded by friends sipping Veuve Cliquot champagne.

But, this felt right. I had a huge wave of relief wash over me, followed by a burst of happiness.

I remember it felt  like a 1000 watt light bulb ignited…I was drenched in cliches and epiphanies. And it wasn’t the caffeine.

You know how sometimes you are so excited you just have to “share” – with someone – anyone?  Women have a propensity for this – we  just do – it’s in our DNA.

I remember feeling so elated and liberated. I was formally single and flying solo- no need for a co-pilot.

Later, he told me I was beaming as I leaned over and asked him, “Do I look single?”  He was obviously taken aback and then laughed heartily and said,

“You look too happy to be married.”


And that was the beginning of a beautiful friendship.

This entry was posted in Dating Diva advice, Relationship, San Francisco, single in Marin, suddenly single and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

