Too good to be true? Not my first rodeo

photo_26831_20130808Letters to Page Larkin: Binkie finds a man she thinks is “too Good to be true” – is she jaded, shallow or afraid?

Dear Page Larkin,

Help! I think I’ve met the man of my dreams- but there have been so many nightmares, I’m not sure.

I’ve been reading your column for years and trust your advice. I’ve met every kind of loser you have described in your column.

I’ve quit “online dating” six times in six years. On a lark, (and lonely) I signed up again. I saw all of the same old guys- who magically remained the same age from six years ago. I met a guy on Match.com- who has swept me off my feet. And, I’m not easily impressed.

Out of the blue, this guy reaches out – seems smart, polite, kind of funny. This is not my first rodeo- I’m not impressed by first impressions.

Turns out this guy is a “keeper.” The one thing that bothers me, Is that he’s really nice, really thoughtful, and really polite. Maybe he’s too good to be true. What do you think?

Binkie 101

photo_14917_20091014

Dear Binkie 101,

First, get your head examined. Then hold onto this wonderful man for as long as you can. You have witnessed so many Dead Ends that you’ve lost your True blue Great Guy vision. Men of that caliber are a rare breed. Seize the Day and hold on tight.

Love, Page

 

red-319374__180-2

The folly of mistaking a paradox for a discovery, a metaphor for a proof, a torrent of verbiage for a spring of capital truths, and oneself for an oracle, is inborn in us. Paul Valery

 

This entry was posted in Page Larkin Marin, Relationship, single in Marin and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

